Kenyatta University

Kenyatta University

The history of Kenyatta University dates back to 1965 when the British Government handed over the Templer Barracks to the Government of Kenya. The Barracks were converted to a college known as Kenyatta College. It offered Secondary and Teacher Training Education leading to the award of Secondary Teacher 1 (S1) and Secondary Teacher Advanced Level (SA) certificates. Following an Act of Parliament in 1970, Kenyatta College became a constituent college of the University of Nairobi and its name changed to Kenyatta University College.

The institution admitted its first batch of 200 students in 1972 to pursue studies leading to the award of Bachelor of Education degree of the University of Nairobi. By 1975, the Teacher Training Education Programmes, S1 and SA, were phased out to give way to the Bachelor of Education degree programme and a two-year Undergraduate Diploma in Education.

In July 1978, the Faculty of Education of the University of Nairobi was transferred to Kenyatta University College. This made the institution the only one in the country training teachers at both the undergraduate and postgraduate levels at the time. Kenyatta University College achieved full University status on August 23, 1985, establishing Act became operational on September 1, 1985. Kenyatta University was inaugurated in December 1985 with three faculties namely; Education, Science and Arts.

The university has supported the development of several constituent colleges to fully fledged university status, these include Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (1998), became a fully-fledged university; Pwani University (2007 - January 2013); Machakos University (2009- xx). In 2013, Kenyatta University was granted a Charter in accordance with the provisions of Section 19 of the Universities Act 2012.